An Ode To The Joyous Process

Natesh Muthuswamy

If you keep it tight it becomes spiritual. Or if it is the unseen, the felt, that you seek, it becomes tight. Tight is the word. Cumbersome too it becomes from material-needs since all else you had rejected in the process to make it bipolar and tight. “You” alone becomes enough. You, you and you without a reference point. At the moment of making, I mean, not while it is being built, technically called, the process. A reason why I don’t use the word creation is that the same can be said of a potter making water-pots. Has s/he got no anger, love etc.?

(Artist – Natesh M.)

The hardness of the paper, the smoothness of the tip of your pen, the fine flow of good ink and your fingertips becoming the conduit of your instinct. This happens to me to bring myself totally into this moment, this very moment! Instinct reshuffles the jumble that I am, to present on paper in a state of sensual cleanliness, in a neutral, non-committal state. If I am not bluffing you will feel space in spaces left alone by my roving line.

Now this bit of the drawing happening is the joy of meditation since I am happy. Even if I become a sworn positivist refusing the uni-polar choice of evil and good does it matter? The beautiful comes from the zone of the automatic. The zone of life loving to continue living and not be bitten by a king cobra and die. If theoretically and intellectually that much is incorrect let that be that. On that point let me become polarized and choose to live.

Expressionism and spirituality don’t go together? Is the expressed a 100% ‘encounter’ with the medium? Is there no element of non-committal joy? Is joy a state of absence and non presence? Or absent when being present? No? When I love my moment of drawing let me say in a spiritually befuddled way that I am polarized and I am an expressionist.

If spirit and expression aren’t from the same pot, let that be. For to tremble with life like a snail is what I wish to be, with waters all over, inviting you to swim with me in my private oasis.

Leave a Reply

